Independent Advisory group

Independent Advisory group

Team Members

The independent advisory group recommends research portfolio and projects to the board

Team Member
Gregor Coster
Chair Advisory Group

Professor of Health Policy, Victoria University of Wellington; Chairman of Worksafe NZ, Board Member of ACC

Team Member
Judy Blakey
Consumer Health Advisor

Team Member
Richard Fraser
Vice President, Engage Solutions, Orion Health

Team Member
Lope Ginnen
Director, Vaka Tautua

Barrister and Director Barrister – family law specialist; Chairperson of Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Whai Maia Ltd; Director of Vaka Tautua Limited; Trustee of Emerge Aotearoa; Trustee of Brainwave Trust Aotearoa; Member of Community Advisory Group of the Alcohol and Other Drug Treatment Court.

Team Member
Geoffrey Holmes
Dean of Comp & Math Sciences, University of Waikato

Professor Geoff Holmes was head of the highly successful machine learning group at Waikato for over a decade, and has been involved in several open source projects over the last 20 years.

Team Member
Lara Hopley
Clinical Adviser Digital Innovations Specialist Anaesthetist, WDHB

Dr Lara Hopley is a Specialist Anaesthetist who has of necessity been drawn into clinical information management and the associated creation of virtuous cycles.

Team Member
Kathryn McPherson
Chief Executive, Health Research Council

Team Member
Gail Pacheco
Professor in Economics, AUT

Director, NZ Work Research Institute

Team Member
Stella Ward
Executive Director Allied Health – West Coast and Canterbury DHB

Stella trained as a speech language therapist and has worked in the public health system, private practice, education and welfare. Since moving to Allied Health leadership roles Stella has been involved in fostering excellence in clinical standards, research and innovation, quality and patient safety.

Team Member
Helen Wihongi
Ngati Porou, Ngapuhi, Te Whanau a Apanui

Psychologist & Research Advisor Maori Auckland DHB and Waitemata DHB